Board & Councils

Board of Directors

Child Advocates of Fort Bend is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of a diverse group of 30 business and civic leaders representing a variety of professional sectors, geographical regions, ages, genders and ethnicities.  Our Directors share a passion for impacting the lives of abused and neglected children in our community.  We are fortunate that every year, 100% of our Board Directors make a financial contribution. They are also actively involved in outreach and ambassadorship as well as serving as CASA and CAC Volunteers.

  • Pat Somers, President
  • Betty Baitland, Vice President and Parliamentarian
  • Denny Adelung, Past President
  • Vickie Looney, Secretary
  • Robert Culak, Treasurer
  • Farha Ahmed
  • Eileen Akerson
  • Cynthia Barratt
  • Bob Brown (emeritus)
  • Brian Covault
  • Tom Duffy
  • Joe Freudenberger
  • Valerie Golden
  • David Johnston
  • Kurt Kirchof
  • Mark Lapeyrouse
  • Jim Lockwood
  • Xavier Maza
  • Jim McClellan
  • Ruthanne Mefford
  • Nancy Olson
  • Barkley Peschel
  • Mike Smith
  • James Steenbergen

CASA and CAC Advisory Councils

In addition to our Board, Child Advocates of Fort Bend is supported by four advisory councils. The CASA Advisory Council and CAC Advisory Council provide program guidance and expertise.  Their members are subject matter experts ranging from attorneys, law enforcement officers, medical providers, child welfare specialists, school superintendents and administrators, placement agencies and community representatives.  These program councils meet monthly to advise on programming, community outreach, outcomes measurement, and the legislative and legal issues impacting our cases.

  • Marjorie Hancock, President
  • Bob Mayo, Secretary
  • Dr. Connie Almeida
  • Rene Cannavo
  • Pam Collins
  • Felechia Hall
  • Ilene Harper
  • Dejuana Jernigan
  • Metoyer Martin
  • Daphne McCadney
  • Ruthanne Mefford
  • Fiona Remko
  • John Robson
  • Shannan Stavinoha

  • James Steenbergen, Chair
  • Stacey Mitchell, Vice Chair
  • Brian Middleton, Secretary
  • Farha Ahmed
  • Riad Ali
  • Bob Bennett
  • Mike Berezin
  • Rob Bostic
  • Doug Brinkley
  • John Colburn
  • Roy Cordes
  • Jimmy Davis
  • Charles Dupre
  • Dr. Rebecca Girardet
  • Dr. Karen Gollaher
  • Mike Harvey
  • District Attorney John Healey
  • Juli Johnson
  • Ruthanne Mefford
  • Suzy Morton
  • Fiona Remko
  • Jennifer Roberts
  • Sandra Sanchez
  • David Schultz
  • Kenny Seymour
  • Celina Shariff
  • Ashly Smith
  • Jonathan White
  • Kevin Williams

Volunteer Council

Volunteer Council is comprised of ten tenured volunteers representing both our CAC and CASA programs.  Members meet monthly and serve at least one year.  The Council serves as a link between our staff and volunteers to facilitate communication and provide volunteer mentorship and support.  They participate in our quarterly New Volunteer Trainings and at the New Volunteer Swearing-In Ceremonies and Luncheons.

  • Kathy Eyring, Chair
  • Margie Adolph
  • Rosalind Baldwin
  • Keith Bauman
  • Nancy Dale
  • Trudy Dick
  • Carrie Fix
  • Alexis Jackson
  • Rhonda Kuykendall
  • Susan Richardson

Volunteer council members front row (L to R) are: Susan Richardson, Carrie Fix, Rosalind Baldwin, Margie Adolph and Carrie Fix. Back row (L to R) are: Keith Bauman, Rhonda Kuykendall, Kathy Eyring and Nancy Dale. Not shown is Trudy Dick.

Friends of Child Advocates of Fort Bend

Friends Council is an auxiliary group dedicated to direct assistance to the children we serve. Friends Council raises funds through annual membership ($40/year) and currently has approximately 100 members. Friends membership form

  • Sue Lockwood, President
  • Alison Haralson, Membership
  • Mindy Benefield
  • Joyce Ericsson
  • Lynn Halford
  • Alexis Jackson
  • Peggy Jackson
  • Laura Leatherwood
  • Judy Maddison
  • Lisa Moore
  • Kristin Stiles-Janossy
  • Pat Somers
  • Laura Thompson